Forums | developer.brewmp.com Forums | developer.brewmp.com

Developer

Forums

n the document "BDS Preinstalled Items Guide", according to page 10, "a protected BREW item can still be upgraded OTA." On page 13, there is a list of verification steps for making sure the upgraded application works correctly.

My questions about this are - given a pre-installed application where the application is set as a protected item:
- What is the user's experience if an upgrade to the original application is distributed? Do they request an upgrade via the normal "check for upgrade" mechanism? Do they see the upgrade in the application catalog?
- Should the upgrade have the same classID as the originally installed application?
- On page 13, the instructions indicate that after testing the upgrade, both the originally installed application and the upgraded version will be on the phone. Will the user see 2 applications or only one in the application list on their BREW phone menus?

Thanks!

The term "Protected" is related to item deletion and not upgrade by subscriber. If Item is protected then subscriber cannot delete that item from the handset otherwise he can delte that. Both protected and unprotected items can be upgraded.
- Upgrade by normal process.check for upgrade -> BAM will launch catalog and takes user to pricing options.
- Yes, same classid. different versions.
- Only one item.

The term "Protected" is related to item deletion and not upgrade by subscriber. If Item is protected then subscriber cannot delete that item from the handset otherwise he can delte that. Both protected and unprotected items can be upgraded.
- Upgrade by normal process.check for upgrade -> BAM will launch catalog and takes user to pricing options.
- Yes, same classid. different versions.
- Only one item.

Atul:
Thanks for the guidance - very helpful.
Just to make sure i am clear - per the BDS preinstall guide, upon upgrade, there are 2 different application directories on teh phone - the original pre-install and the new upgrade one. Is the old one disabled somehow - perhaps by changes to its MIF or something similar? Our applicaiton auto-starts itself by registering for notification of various events, including the "boot up" event - so I want to be sure only the upgraded version will run under any circumstances.
Thanks again!
- Sean

Atul:
Thanks for the guidance - very helpful.
Just to make sure i am clear - per the BDS preinstall guide, upon upgrade, there are 2 different application directories on teh phone - the original pre-install and the new upgrade one. Is the old one disabled somehow - perhaps by changes to its MIF or something similar? Our applicaiton auto-starts itself by registering for notification of various events, including the "boot up" event - so I want to be sure only the upgraded version will run under any circumstances.
Thanks again!
- Sean